Over 60 countries that were previously visa-exempted will require pre-approved documentation before travel…

If you’re planning to travel to any destinations in Europe in the coming year, then make sure to check whether you will require an ETIAS travel authorisation.

Starting 2024, British, US, and Emirati citizens, as well as over 58 other countries, will be required to show pre-approved visa documentation to visit over 30 European countries.

According to the European Union’s website, over 1.4 billion people from 58 countries that currently travel visa-free to certain European destinations will be required to apply for a visa in advance.

The application process costs Dhs28.51 (EUR 7) and once approved, is valid for three years. During this time, you can visit the country as many times as you wish for short-term stays of up to 90 days.

How to apply

If you’re planning on travelling to any of the European countries listed below next year, travellers must fill out the application form via the official ETIAS website or through the ETIAS mobile application.

To apply you will need a valid passport or travel document that does not expire in less than three months during the time which you are planning to travel and also that it is not older than 10 years.

Applying for the ETIAS travel authorisation costs EUR 7, though some travellers are exempt from paying this fee.

A decision on your application should arrive around four days from the day you apply. But note that this can extend to up to two weeks if you are requested to provide further information. Due to these factors, it’s crucial to apply for your ETIAS authorisation well ahead of your journey.

Here is the full list of countries required to apply for ETIAS travel authorisation starting 2024: 

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Here is the list of European countries that require ETIAS authorisation for tourist entry: 

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

For more information visit here.

Images: Getty