The 27th edition of the tournament sees the welcome return of Rafael Nadal…

Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships is back for its 27th edition. The tournament will take place at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium from February 19 to March 4. This year will see the return of world number two, Rafael Nadal, for his first time in a competitive UAE competition in 15 years.

Rafael Nadal’s return will be his fourth appearance in Dubai. He last competed here at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships in 2008, having won the Dubai title in 2006 against Roger Federer. 15 years on, the Spanish superstar has won a record-breaking 22 Grand Slam men’s singles titles, including 14 French Open titles.

Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman and CEO of Dubai Duty Free expressed his excitement to host Nadal once again, adding “as one of the most instantly recognisable personalities in global sport, and one of the most decorated players to ever grace the game, we are absolutely thrilled to welcome Rafa back to the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships after 15 years”.

Competing alongside him this year will be World No.5 Novak Djokovic, reigning Dubai champion Andrey Rublev and British tennis legend Andy Murray.

The tournament consists of a WTA 100 women’s competition, running from February 19 to February 25, followed by the ATP 500 men’s, running until March 4.

Held under the patronage of HH Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships first began as the Dubai Men’s Open back in 1993, with women’s tournaments added in 2001. The Championships have seen a plethora of top names compete, including Andre Agassi, Boris Becker, Goran Ivanisevic, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray, as well as Martina Hingis, Justine Henin, Lindsay Davenport, Venus and Serena Williams, and Caroline Wozniacki.

Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships, Dubai Duty Free Stadium, Dubai. February 19 to March 4.