The ETIAS visa was originally expected to take off from next year… 

Over 60 countries that were previously visa-exempt – including British, US, and Emirati citizens – will soon require pre-approved documentation before travel.

The ETIAS travel authorisation was originally expected to take off from the beginning of 2024, however, according to the website, will now come into effect in mid-2025 giving travellers an extra year of hassle-free travel.

According to the European Union’s website, over 1.4 billion people from 58 countries that currently travel visa-free to certain European destinations will be required to apply for a visa in advance to visit over 30 European countries..

The application process costs Dhs28.51 (EUR 7) and once approved, is valid for three years. During this time, you can visit the country as many times as you wish for short-term stays of up to 90 days.

How to apply

From 2025, if you’re planning on travelling to any of the European countries listed below, travellers must fill out the application form via the official ETIAS website or through the ETIAS mobile application.

To apply you will need a valid passport or travel document that does not expire in less than three months during the time which you are planning to travel and also that it is not older than 10 years.

Applying for the ETIAS travel authorisation costs EUR 7, though some travellers are exempt from paying this fee.

A decision on your application should arrive around four days from the day you apply. But note that this can extend to up to two weeks if you are requested to provide further information. Due to these factors, it’s crucial to apply for your ETIAS authorisation well ahead of your journey.

Here is the full list of countries required to apply for an ETIAS visa starting 2025: 

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Here is the list of European countries that require an ETIAS visa for tourist entry: 

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

For more information visit here.

Images: Getty