The UAE is currently on the UK’s travel ban list…

There have been a lot more changes to international travel over the past month in particular, let alone the year. On January 29, it was announced that the UAE had been added to the UK’s travel ban list. This means that there will be no direct flights from the UAE to the UK for the foreseeable future.

Now a new rule has come into effect. According to Gov.UK, from February 15, any traveller arriving into the UK from a country with a travel ban to the UK will have to quarantine in a government-approved hotel for 10 days.

This applies to all British British and Irish nationals, or passengers with UK residency rights, who may return via indirect flights. Currently, all non-British travellers from the UAE or who’ve transited through through the UAE will be denied entry to the UK.

British and Irish nationals, or passengers with UK residency rights must present a negative PCR test and completed passenger locator form before arrival. These individuals may return to the UK via indirect flights.

In a press release on the Gov.UK website, it stated that ‘further details will be set out next week on how passengers will be able to book into the designated accommodation facilities’. According to The National, it looks like traveller will have to pay up to £800 per person for 11 nights out of their own pocket.

The UK government is currently seeking advice from Australia and New Zealand, who have seen a success with the implementation of travel quarantine.

You might also like

The UAE has been added to the UK's travel ban list, starting today
Emirates updates temporary flight bans, and resumes Denmark service

Countries on the UK’s travel ban list or ‘red list’ are: 

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores)
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Image: Getty