What’s On has details of Sprite Cricket Stars and the chance to win Dhs100,000 by facing Shoaib Akhtar, bowler of the fastest bowl ever, at the World Cup.

Cricket fans are being given the chance to earn Dh100,000 as part of Sprite Cricket Stars, a tournament featuring more than 30 teams from across Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

Now in its third year, the open-to-all competition sees 15 teams from labour camps battle it out alongside at least 16 teams from the general public for a place in the October finals.

Since its launch in May 2011, over  50,000 players have taken part, many of whom were lured in by the prospect of meeting ambassador Shoaib Akhtar. The Pakistani fast-bowling legend, who also goes by the name the ‘Rawalpindi Express’, has been a very hands-on supporter of the scheme, and will once again this year lead the forays into labour camps to help encourage individuals to take part.

And it is in facing Akhtar, who is responsible for the fastest delivery ever recorded – a staggering 100.2 mph versus England in 2003, that fans have the chance to scoop the six-figure jackpot. Announcing the launch of this this year’s installment late last week, the bowler revealed that a select group from inside the stadium on finals day will be given the opportunity to face one of his deliveries which, if hit for six, could earn the batsmen Dhs100,000.

Speaking about Sprite Cricket Stars, the former player said: “Seeing the incredible effect that Spite Cricket Stars had on the passionate fans across the country last year, I was overjoyed to be invited to participate in the programe this year again. I look forward to seeing the teams battle it out to the 2014 Champions and can’t wait to experience the UAE’s talent myself when I bowl against fans on the pitch.”

With the round robin matches already underway in some camps, the general public are being encouraged to sign up for their own teams as well as find out ways they can support the scheme in the build up the final in October at an as yet undecided sports arena in the UAE. The winning team will receive Dhs50,000 in prize money, with the runners-up pocketing Dhs25,000.

For more information on how you can be involved, visit sprite.ae/spritecricketstars