The UK is one of two states to lose Green Status in latest update…

Malta has been added, but Tajikistan and the United Kingdom have been removed from the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi’s (DCT) Green List’ of countries, regions and territories, effective today, Sunday June 13, 2021.

What is the Abu Dhabi Green List..?

The Abu Dhabi ‘Green List’ of countries is a collection of international territories that have been deemed as a low-risk of bringing Covid-19 into the emirate. The list is compiled through a thorough analysis of pandemic management criteria, in areas such as infection and vaccination rates, government policy, entry requirements and testing protocol.

The Green List is updated periodically in line with international health developments. And making it on to the list requires destinations to satisfy a strict set of health and safety criteria.

Who is on the Green List

As of June 13, the full DCT Abu Dhabi Green List as follows:

  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Cuba
  • Germany
  • Greenland
  • Hong Kong (SAR)
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Moldova
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan, Province of China
  • United States of America
  • Uzbekistan

Green List — Green Pass

This news follows the announcement last week that a Green Pass on the updated ALHOSN app will now be required to access public spaces in the capital.

Restrictions that will apply to both residents and tourists when they come.

For full details and a breakdown of entitlements, as well as step by step guides to how the Green Pass functions, head to our article on the updates.

You might also like

Abu Dhabi: Green pass required for entry to public places
MOHAP begins Sinopharm trials on children aged three to 17

Arriving into Abu Dhabi from a Green List country

Since May 3, the rules for vaccinated residents have been updated. They applies to all residents and citizens of Abu Dhabi (not anywhere in the UAE, this appears to be emirate specific) that are able to demonstrate through their Al Hosn app, that they have received both doses of any Abu Dhabi-approved vaccine (Sinopharm and Pfizer), at least 28 days ago.

As before, those arriving from Green List countries are only required to self-isolate for as long as it takes to receive a negative result from the arrival PCR test. But now rather than having to take follow up tests on day six and day 12, they’re only required to have a test on day six (in addition to the test on arrival).

For unvaccinated individuals, those that have only had one dose, or both doses less than 28 days ago —there’s still no quarantine requirement for entry from Green List countries (other than the time before receiving a negative result from the arrival PCR test), but you will require further PCR tests on day six and 12.

What happens if I’m travelling to Abu Dhabi from a destination not on the Green List…?

Following the updates, vaccinated individuals arriving from non-Green List countries will now only have to quarantine for five days (previously it was 10). There’s still a requirement for a PCR test on arrival and on day four.

Those residents and citizens whose Al Hosn app does not reflect having had both doses of an approved vaccine more than 28 days ago, arriving from non-Green countries will have to quarantine the full 10 days, with a PCR test on arrival and on day eight.

Images: Getty