And other Green List updates.

The latest updates to Abu Dhabi’s ‘Green List’ of countries and territories have been announced by the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi (DCT).

There have been three new additions to the list, and no other countries that were on the previous list lost their Green status.

Saudia Arabia has returned after being removed in the previous update, alongside Morocco and Kazakhstan also joining as new Green List entries.

Do the new Green List additions open up new travel possibilities?

Yes, actually.

The entry requirements of the beautiful country of Morocco, mean that Abu Dhabi nationals and residents can now visit without quarantine.

Morocco is the home to vibrant souks, a charismatic network of riad courtyards, epic grilled sardines, adventuring in the Atlas mountains, colourful port town Essaouira, cosmopolitan Marrakesh, beautiful beaches and *sharp in take of breath* the lamb tagine. With plenty of history to uncover and kasbahs to rock, it’s well worth exploring.

The current entry requirements for Casablanca are:

  • Take a COVID-19 PCR test no more than 72 hours before your flight departure time
  • Complete and print a Public Health Passenger Form
  • A printed health declaration form required
  • Confirmed hotel reservation required for tourists
  • An invitation from a Moroccan company required for business travellers

Currently, Etihad isn’t flying to Morocco, but as of March 24, they’ll be flying to Casablanca three times a week. Remember the Green List is subject to periodical change.

Important note – when preparing for a trip,  always check the most up-to-date entry requirements of your destination, and of the territory, you’re departing from.

You might also like

Everything you need to know when travelling in or out of Abu Dhabi
Etihad extends its Global Covid insurance cover to September

What is the Abu Dhabi Green list ?

Passengers travelling from ‘Green List’ countries into Abu Dhabi will only have to isolate for as long as it takes to receive a negative result from the PCR test administered on arrival into Abu Dhabi Airport.

Further PCR tests must also be taken on day four and day eight after arrival. There are slightly different rules for those vaccinated passengers with active exemptions.

The ‘Green List’ is updated every two weeks in line with international health developments. And making it on to the list requires destinations to satisfy a strict set of health and safety criteria.

And it’s important to note that the concerns the countries that passengers are arriving from, NOT nationality.

Those arriving into Abu Dhabi from non-Green countries, territories and regions will need to be tested at the airport and then quarantine for a period of 10 days. Those travelling from high-risk countries may be asked to quarantine in a government facility.

Who else is on the Green list?

As of March 8 2021, the full Green List is as follows:

  • Australia
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Greenland
  • Hong Kong (SAR)
  • Iceland
  • Kazakhstan
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore

Images: Getty